My Personal Fan Fiction Experience

Click the link to see my own fanfiction.net profile.

So, it wouldn’t be fair for me to write a whole post about fan fiction without sharing my own embarrassing past as a fanfic writer. And I do say embarrassing because I am under no delusion that I was one of those good writers I was talking about in my last post.

As I said at the beginning of my post on fan fiction, I was first truly introduced to fandom through fan fiction, specifically Lord of the Rings fan fiction.  What can I say? I was thirteen and I had a crush on Legolas.  I needed more, and fan fiction gave me more.

My fan fiction career began with a crack piece, as I now understand they’re called, that crossed Lord of the Rings with Spongebob Squarepants.  And it was co-written by my brother.  It is silly, stupid, and was the product of sheer boredom.

This is probably why my author name ended up being Hobbit Killer.

If you are brave enough to read these stories, particularly the early ones, you will notice that the quality is not great.  I’d like to think I improved as I continued writing and got comments from reviewers.  The first fic I wrote was written 10 years ago, the last thing I wrote was written 3 years ago.  I would like to think I improved during that time.

Even though I’m not all that proud of these stories now, I am proud of how being Hobbit Killer online made me a more confident person.  When I said in my last post that you should give kids some slack for what they write, a lot of that was inspired by my own experience.  Getting encouragement from strangers encouraged me to keep trying to improve my writing.  Hopefully, other young people are given that same opportunity…even if those fanfics aren’t exactly Shakespeare.

You’ll also notice I used to be a big NCIS fan.  Judge me as you will.

Leave a comment

February 20, 2013 · 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

